top of page

    RECENT POSTS: 

    FOLLOW ME:

    • LinkedIn App Icon
    • Yelp! App Icon
    • Instagram Classic
    • Pinterest App Icon
    • Facebook App Icon

    How I developed my portfolio....by Artistchic


    Try to remember to make a good first impression because it will be you selling point. I remember when I was a teenager and I went to the Malcolm Brown Gallery in Shaker Heights, Ohio. I was just a young artist starting out. I had two of my best paintings and few odd paintings. I did not make an appointment or call beforehand. It took a lot of courage to go into a place filled with accomplished artist. In that moment I instantly realized that they were just regular people with a gallery. I talked to a member of the staff and tried to sell my artwork to the gallery owner. I did not actually sell my artwork or have a show but I had tried and that made all the difference. By applying the effort I was then empowered to try again and again until I sold my first painting. It was at Randall Mall shortly after the world trade center had collapsed. I created two 30x30 painting Titled: “Twin Cities” to a couple in Fremont, Ohio. An artist should be memorable, displays the emotions, and provides insight on personal passion. Show the range of ideas you are able to create along with experimental works that display originality.

    As an artist you don’t exist unless you have a portfolio. It is important to think about the format of your portfolio. Show the process of your work. Make sure your artwork in portfolio is as much of your most recent work as possible. You want to people to see your thought processes. Highlight all your talents without overloading the viewer and not show too little work. So you really want to show how diverse you are in your skillset. You are trying to demonstrate your work or contract. Keep that in mind. Think about your viewer.

    I have a few top tips on how to develop a portfolio:

    #1 Create a specific portfolio for specific clients. You want to understand the viewer s like and needs. You don’t want the catch all approach.

    #2 Demonstrate your niche and consistency. It is best to have a concept developed.

    #3 Be careful being to specialized unless you are sure about your niche then become the best in the market. You want to show your viewer happy clients.

    #4 Get outside opinions about the quality of work. Get feedback because having other opinions help you not be blindsided by not having a second opinion.

    bottom of page